Priorities

IMG_7008

This wonderful husband of mine was crawling in a ditch laying electrical wire to the garage, while I was gathering any 2×4’s I could find to give to our amazing handyman, Seth.  This picture is one of the few we have taken together in our labor of love and craziness.  But, we are getting there.  Remembering everyday how thankful we are to have each other, our wonderful family, this beautiful piece of Texas and a very big God who has walked with us each stage of this journey.

I haven’t posted in awhile, because honestly, I was overwhelmed and a bit discouraged. Some of the toughest parts of our journey happened in February and March. I was stretched and limited in so many ways.  Then, about a month ago, I was feeling discouraged, tired and stressed out.  I talked to my dad and he asked how I was doing.  I told him that things had gotten really hard.  My dad said, “Well, I know you are good with your morning quiet times with the Lord.”  I stopped him right there.  “Dad, I haven’t been having them. I am so tired and I get up early every morning to meet different workers or crews coming to the house.”  My ever encouraging dad, scolded me and basically said – It doesn’t matter how early you have to get up, or how tired you are, you have to give each day to the Lord.  How right he was.

For the past several months, I had been doing it on my own strength, which was not very strong or very wise. I said pocket prayers as I was driving and saw my joy waning. The witness I could have been to others, was lacking.  Needless to say – it was a wake up call. So, for the past month, my coffee and my Bible are starting each morning.  It has been good for me to focus on something other than myself and my day.  To take my eyes off of me, has been a way to lift the burden I had been feeling.  Things aren’t perfect, but they are better.  We are making good progress on projects, but we still have a lot of life happening around us to keep up with too – graduations, birthdays, holidays – you know – life.  Good stuff. Tough stuff. In between stuff.  But doing life without the Lord actively apart of it, is heavy and comber some.  Consequences come when the Lord takes a back seat.  Though things are better, I find myself going back to Him in humility and earnestness.  I am so thankful to have such a good God in my life, one who knows me, sees me and forgives me continually.  For now, that’s my Little Piece of Texas – I’ll post some new project pics soon.

May God’s grace fill you and yours.   Blessings – Staci

3 thoughts on “Priorities

  1. Jessica says:

    Hi, I am new here. Hope it’s ok to comment. Thank you for this post. It is a great reminder. We are in the midst of getting two properties ready to sell and I can probably understand how you felt a little bit. Just want the work to be done. I thought this was really great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer says:

      Thanks, Jessica. I think Dave and I overextended ourselves. We had crews, but we did a lot ourselves which eventually caught up to us. We were trying to remodel, contract, design, keep up with the crews and all their needs, not to mention just being a family. We also had no idea how many small details there are and how easy one small mistake or over site, by anyone, can lead to other issues which can grow. I think if we were doing a rent house, or one we were going to sell, it would be different. But, it’s our home so you have more invested into it. Thanks again. I love getting the comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jessica says:

        Makes sense. Overextending is easy- human nature I guess. Seems like trying to do everything is almost necessary sometimes, until we reach a point something has to give.

        The houses we are getting ready to sell are our homes- our lake home and home home. My husband is taking a new job that requires a move. We’ve been in this house since my Little Bit was 2. So, going on 9 years. There’s a lot of emotions for me, tied up in getting it ready to sell to someone else… I’m excited for our future, but sad as well. It’s hard to leave home.

        So we have sort of opposite situations going on. You’re putting together a place you love, I’m leaving mine.

        I think one of the reasons your post resonates with me is, sometimes I try to “carry” everything and forget to lean. You reminded me that there is a pillar of strength in my back pocket, not only for the house stuff, but for all stuff.

        So, I’d like to extend a giant Thank You to you for that. 💜 PS glad to hear you love getting comments. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment