Laundry Room Prep

img_6600

In case you haven’t noticed, I love reclaimed wood.  Reclaimed wood with great color always brings a big smile to my face. These little lovelies will be a part of the back wall in my laundry room.  I have one of my favorite chandeliers going in, a cast iron sink, some old glass washboards, a canvas rolling laundry basket, hopefully some fun shelving and I even have a wonderful stained glass window that’s already been installed.

The laundry room is on the section of the house that we considered tearing down.  It’s an old army barrack that was a flooring showroom, then who knows what.  It ended up on our property before we bought it and was in horrible repair.

img_1703

This is my friend Risa, and wonderful helper. We are standing in the middle of the old barracks.  This pic was taken a few months after we had been working on the house. The framing is up, the old flooring is mostly gone and the roof isn’s sagging any more. Behind Risa, is a small framed opening.  That is my some-day laundry room.

img_5679

This picture is the corner where my laundry room will be.  This picture was taken right after we bought the house. See the floor?  It was one of probably 15 different types of flooring that covered this building.

img_1622

The window with plywood partly over it, is where my stained glass window is now. Both the siding and the window were sold to people who would reuse and enjoy them.

img_6212

This picture is of the laundry area before the new siding went up.  I had to show you my super great door.  This door was in a bedroom, but I moved it so it could be enjoyed even more.

The crazy thing about this laundry room, is I planned most of it before a stud was set. I didn’t have the sink at that time, which would have helped the door placement.  The sink led to finding the right sized laundry basket to fit in a small nook. The laundry room was really fun, because it’s small and it really has no interest to hubby except function. I have been a free spirit in dreaming.

This week, the insulation went up(I will post a pick of that later). The drywall goes up next week, which is why I am sanding and preparing like crazy.  I need to get the wood walls up, before the drywall.  The drywall guys are awesome and can set it right up to the wood, so I don’t need any trim or inside cove on the sides.

Here are a few more pics of how I spent yesterday afternoon.img_6590img_6596

I started sanding each board with 60 grit sand paper.  If it came off quickly, I would change to a higher grit like 80 or 100.

img_6591

Each board sanded down differently, so I made sure to apply light pressure until I could figure out how it would sand.  Some were stubborn on one end, then sanded quickly on the other end.  Needless to say, I took time on each board, so I could get the best possible color out of them.

Once I got close to the colors I wanted, I did a finish sanding with a 220 or 120 grit paper.  I am really happy with the results.

img_6598-1

I thought I had sanded enough boards, until I laid them out on the floor in the laundry room. Fortunately, I have plenty of yellow and pink boards, so I will be sanding more this week.

All the boards came from the house, though I am not quite sure where. We took a wall down in the main house on a day I was at my part time job.  I am guessing these were behind drywall, because I don’t remember seeing them before they ended up in a pile of reclaimed wood in the pole barn.  I am very thankful that our workers, took the time and effort to remove them with care. They all knew how I love old wood. The other big plus, is that these boards are almost completely nail free!!  So, they are in really good condition.

Eventually, I’ll post pictures of the finished product.  It’s exciting to see dreamy ideas come together.

Yesterday, while I was sanding, I was thinking about how thankful I was.  Thankful to have the freedom to be creative.  Thankful to have a husband who lets me have fun with this big project.  Thankful to have people around who are capable of making it happen. And… so very thankful to have such a big God who loves seeing us enjoy life and using our gifts in unique ways.

Leave a Reply

